top of page
  • YouthMappers Staff

Introducing the 2019 YouthMappers Leadership Fellows!

Next month, the 2019 Leadership Fellows will convene at the University of Pretoria in Pretoria, South Africa for a nine-day workshop. Twenty-two fellows were carefully selected as finalists because of their leadership potential, technical abilities in open mapping, and good communication skills.

The YouthMappers Leadership Initiative is a 6-month fellowship program for undergraduate and graduate students who are members of YouthMappers chapters with plans for activities and innovative ideas to promote leadership in YouthMappers that address the themes of youth leadership, open mapping techniques, data visualization, science communication, inclusive community participation, capacity building, and/or international partnerships.

Together, they will take part in customized technical training sessions in open mapping techniques to help them enrich their home chapter activities, build their leadership potential, and network with other chapters. They will also receive professional development and have access to mentoring by international experts. Over the life of the program, the teams will have the opportunity to interact and exchange ideas with the online community of YouthMappers fellows and with other teams from around the world!

2019 YouthMappers Leadership Fellows


Ataur Rahman Shaheen, Dhaka College


Fabio Neira Alzate, Universidad de Antioquia

Costa Rica

Jasson Mora Mussio, Universidad de Costa Rica

Cote d'Ivoire

Guy Pacome Yao Adingra, Université Felix Houphouet Boigny


Sabina Abuga, University of Cape Coast Gladys Adjei, University of Cape Coast Michael Batame, University of Ghana Prince Kwame Odame, University of Cape Coast


Candan Eylül Kilsedar, Politecnico di Milano


Laura Mugehal, Jomo Kenyatta University of Science and Technology


Ndapile Mkuwu, University of Malawi, Chancellor College


Shakti Prakash Joshi, Tribhuvan University


Karen Martinez, Universidad de Panama


Pierre Edwin Lee See Tiong, Far Eastern University


Esaie Dufitimana, Institut d' Enseignement Superieur de Ruhengeri Erneste Ntakobangize, Kigali Institute of Science and Technology, University of Rwanda

South Africa

Tristan Payne, University of Pretoria


Bridget Nankunda, Makerere University Michael Ssebaggala, Makerere University

United States of America

Johanna Belanger, The George Washington University

Emily Glaeser, Texas Tech University Rachel Levy, New York University

Follow our social media platforms to see the latest updates and photos of the leadership fellowship workshop: Twitter Facebook Instagram

bottom of page